The purpose of the North Dakota Sports Hall of Fame is to honor and recognize those individuals who have played a major role in the growth and development of sports in the State of North Dakota and to further promote sports and sportsmanship to the public of North Dakota by so honoring those who have made outstanding contributions in sports.

NDSHF History

The North Dakota Sports Hall of Fame was established by the North Dakota State Legislature on January 13th, 1989.

Officers appointed to the Board of Directors included President Jack Brown, Vice President Jim Lusk, and Secretary-Treasurer Jim Trautman.
Nominated and elected to serve on the Board of Directors as Association Representatives were Tarz Timm (NDASA), Tiny Schafer (NDASA), Bud Wright (American Legion Baseball), Wayne Deary (NDGA), and Wanda Rott (NDHA).

The Executive Committee was comprised of Jack Brown, Jim Trautman, Tarz Tim, Tiny Schafer, Bud Wright, Wanda Rott, and Jim Lusk.

The Inaugural NDSHF Induction Banquet in 1992 honored Phil Jackson, Roger Maris, and Dave Osborn. Over the last 30 years, the North Dakota Sports Hall of Fame has celebrated some of the greatest sports figures in North Dakota.

The North Dakota Sports Hall of Fame is located in the Jamestown Civic Center. Memorabilia provided by the Cliff Cushman Award Recipients and Associations is contained in showcases on the upper level. Association Halls of Fame are displayed throughout the facility.

North Dakota Sports Hall of Fame
Jamestown Civic Center
212 3rd Avenue Northeast
Jamestown ND 58401

(701) 252-4835

The museum is open Monday through Friday 9AM-5PM. Weekends by appointment only.

For information about school and group tours please call (701) 252-4835 or email pfosse@jamestownnd.gov.

Admission is free.


NDSHF Divisions

Division I

Honors those individuals who have brought national recognition to North Dakota by their actions on the national level. Their portrait will be displayed in a prominent place in the Civic Center and they will be honored with the Cliff Cushman Award at the NDSHF Induction Banquet.

Division II

Honors those individuals who have been recognized at the national level in a particular sport or sports activity. (Example: national coach of the year, Hobey Baker Award winner, president of a national association, national athletic director of the year, or national hall of fame or honor.) There is a special area designated to honor these persons.

Division III

Honors those individuals who have been inducted into their own Sports Association Hall of Fame. Their plaques are now on display at the Civic Center.

Division IV

Honors those individuals who have been inducted into the Sports Hall of Fame of a North Dakota College or University.